Loading Courses

8 week Mindful Self-Compassion Course

Charlene Ray and Lisa Patterson Raterman

January 29, 2022 @ 9:00 am - March 26, 2022 @ 11:30 am UTC-8

Course Navigation

Who can benefit from MSC?
Mindful Self-Compassion can be learned by anyone. It’s the practice of repeatedly evoking goodwill toward ourselves especially when we’re suffering—cultivating the same desire that all living beings have to live happily and free from suffering.

Most of us feel compassion when a close friend is struggling. What would it be like to receive the same caring attention whenever you needed it most? All that’s required is a shift in the direction of our attention—recognizing that as a human being, you, too, are a worthy recipient of compassion.

In MSC you’ll learn:
how to stop being so hard on yourself
how to handle difficult emotions with greater ease
how to motivate yourself with encouragement rather than criticism
how to transform difficult relationships, both old and new
mindfulness and self-compassion practices for home and everyday life
the theory and research behind mindful self-compassion
how to become your own best teacher

Introduction Friday, Jan. 28, 2022
5 pm PST, 7 pm CST, 8 pm EST

In this one-hour introduction, we will review the outline for the 8-week course, guidelines and group norms, and answer any questions you may have so we can dive right into the content the next day.

MSC 8-week program continues on Sat. Jan 29 and meets weekly until March 26.
A half-day retreat will take place on the Saturday after session 5.
Saturday classes meet from 9 am to 11:30 am PST, 11 am to 1:30 pm CST, and 12- 2:30pm EST

Fee: $450 includes facilitation fee and handouts

Details

Start:
January 29, 2022 @ 9:00 am
End:
March 26, 2022 @ 11:30 am

Notes

Our events are listed on Eventslist.org