Participant Page – Online Core Skills

Course dates

Wednesdays and Thursdays
October 28, 29 & November 4, 5

October 28 & 29

CET begins 7 pm
PDT begins 11:00 am
MDT begins 12:00 pm
CDT begins at 1:00 pm
EDT begins 2:00 pm
UTC begins 6:00 pm

November 4 & 5

CET begins 7 pm
PST begins 10:00 am
MST begins 11:00 am
CST begins at 12:00 pm
EST begins 1:00 pm
UTC begins 6:00 pm

 
Please check World Time Buddy to confirm the time the program begins where you live.
 
If you miss a session or part of a session due to the time changes, you will be able view the session recordings. The 4 sessions will be recorded, edited and be posted on this Participant Support Page within 48 hours of each session.
 

Zoom Link for Main Sessions: Join Here
Meeting ID:  926 0184 1956
Passcode:   &C3Vdp

Zoom Guidelines: CMSC utilizes the Zoom platform for this training.  If you are unfamiliar with Zoom, please first review Zoom’s helpful audio, video, and Quick Start guides.  You can also log in 30 minutes before the first session to troubleshoot your connection. Additional Support and practice opportunities (see further down this page for details):

  • SC Mentoring: Engage with highly trained and experienced mentors for on-the-spot learning and application of Self-Compassion skills and teachings. Each Self-Compassion Mentor is a highly trained MSC teacher. Optimize learning by attending additional interactive mentor groups.
  • Affinity Group: A group of Core Skills training participants who self-identify with a particular social-cultural identity (i.e. race, ethnicity, culture, sexual orientation, gender identity, ability-challenged, nationality, age, social class, etc.). With this shared identity they come together in a safe space to explore the intersection of their diverse experiences in relation to learning and practicing Mindful-Self-Compassion. Participants from underrepresented populations have an opportunity to create community and discuss the course experiences and learning with others who share the same social-cultural identity.

Program Materials:

5 Myths of Self-Compassion

MSC Core Skills Workshop Agenda

Online Handouts – Slides

Pre-Workshop Zoom Prep

Session Recordings

Sessions recordings will be posted  here on this page 1-2  days after each session. They will be available for viewing until November 28. They are not downloadable.

Session 1 Recording:

Session 2 Recording:

Session 3 Recording:

Session 4 Recording:

Shame Meditation:

All Self-Compassion Mentoring Groups and Affinity Groups: Join here

PRE-Program Guided Meditations: You are welcome to enjoy a Self-Compassion Meditation before the official start of the Core Skills Trainings on October 29, November 4 & 5. Please arrive on Zoom by 6:30pm CET / 5:30 pm UTC.

Regardless of your comfort with the Zoom platform, we ask that all participants try to log in at least 5-10 minutes before the sessions begin so that you can be settled and ready to begin.

Program Contacts:
For Zoom Technical Issues:
Byron Wild: byronkwild@gmail.com
For Registration or Centrum voor Mindfulness Related Questions:
Miranda van Schadewijk:
info@cvm.nl
For CMSC Program Related Questions:
Laura Stein: Laura@centerformsc.org
For Self-Compassion Mentoring Questions:
Cassondra Graff: cpgraff@gmail.com
Marga Gooren: marga@aqualime.nl
Carolina Velez: cvelezconsultant@yahoo.com

Chris Germer’s website: https://chrisgermer.com/

Kristin Neff’s website: https://self-compassion.org/

Program Calendar
All times Central European Time
Click to join Zoom sessions
All Mentoring and Affinity Groups are 1 Hour
SundayMondayTuesdayWednesday
Thursday
FridaySaturday
October 28:
Main Session: 19:00-22:00
Mentor Group: 22:00 (5:00pm EST)
October 29:
Main Session: 19:00-22:00
Mentor Group: 22:00 (5:00pm EST)
October 30:
Mentor Group: 16:00 (11:00am EST)
Affinity Group: 18:00 (1:00pm EST)
October 31:
Mentor Group: 10:00 (5:00am EST)
Affinity Group: 15:00 (10:00am EST)
November 4:
Main Session: 19:00-22:00
Mentor Group: 22:00 (4:00pm EST)
November 5:
Main Session: 19:00-22:00
Mentor Group: 22:00 (4:00pm EST)
November 6:
Mentor Group: 16:00 (10:00am EST)
Affinity Group: 19:00 (1:00pm EST)
November 7:
Affinity Group: 16:00 (10:00am EST)
Mentor Group: 18:00 (12:00pm EST)

Self-Compassion Mentoring

A unique aspect of this Core Skills training is the opportunity to engage in virtual Mentor Groups while going through the Core Skills program. Most trainings do not include this kind of opportunity. These extra Mentor Groups are designed to help you maximize learning and get a jump start on integrating Mindful Self-Compassion into your life.

Engage with highly trained and experienced MSC Teacher / Mentors for on-the-spot learning and application of Self-Compassion skills and teachings. Optimize your experience by attending additional interactive Mentor Groups.

Cassondra Graff, M.S.,LCSW Certified MSC Teacher

Cassondra is a mindfulness and compassion teacher and mentor with the Center for Mindful Self-Compassion (CMSC). She brings 22 years of experience as a licensed psychotherapist and mental health provider. Cassondra leads Mentor Groups designed to empower people to optimize the application of self-compassion into their lives.

Cassondra believes in the power of compassion to help us survive, thrive and navigate life, especially in challenging times.

Mentoring Groups Explained

Marga Gooren.
MSC Teacher

Marga worked as a family physician in the Netherlands and China for 10 years. Since 2010 she has her own coaching practice supporting (female) physicians striving to have a balanced, healthy and fulfilling (work)life. She is a trained teacher in Mindful Self-compassion and regularly organises MSC-retreats for physicians. Together with Mila de Koning she wrote ‘Heart for the doctor, working with self-compassion’ (soon to be translated in English). Her next book ‘Resilience for female physicians’ will be published March 2021. She is also a board member of Compassion for Care, a Dutch foundation promoting compassion in healthcare.

Miranda van Schadewijk
MSC Teacher

While practicing mindfulness I quickly noticed that a crucial part in that practice for me was my ability to be kind, forgiving and accepting towards myself. Since participating in my first MSC training, it has helped me motivate myself in a kind way and giving me support in a difficult period of grief.

Feeling a deep wish to support others on their learning journey I have been developing myself professionally to teach mindfulness and self-compassion. I have a Master’s degree in Cultural Anthropology, I am a certified mindfulness teacher and a trained MSC teacher. I work at the Centrum voor Mindfulness in Amsterdam, The Netherlands as a teacher and program assistant.

 
Join Link for all Mentor Groups
 
Cassondra Graff schedule for mentor groups:
“Please note: all mentor groups are 1-Hour long”
 
Wednesday, October 28, 10:00pm CET / 5:00pm Eastern Time (Main Program Day)
Thursday, October 29, 10:00pm CET / 5:00pm Eastern Time (Main Program Day)
Wednesday November 4, 10:00pm CET / 4:00pm Eastern Time (Main Program Day)
Thursday November 5, 10:00pm CET / 4:00pm Eastern Time (Main Program Day)
Friday November 6, 4:00pm CET / 10:00am Eastern Time
Saturday November 7, 6:00pm CET / 12:00pm Eastern Time
 
Marga Gooren schedule for mentor groups:
“Please note: all mentor groups are 1-Hour long”
 
Friday October 30, 4:00pm CET / 11:00am Eastern Time
Saturday October 31, 10:00am CET / 5:00am Eastern Time
 
Miranda van Schadewijk schedule for mentor groups:
“Please note: all mentor groups are 1-Hour long”
 
Friday November 6, 4:00pm CET / 10:00am Eastern Time
Saturday November 7, 6:00pm CET / 12:00pm Eastern Time
 
If you are uncertain of a start time, please check World Time Buddy to find the time the mentor group begins where you live.

Affinity Groups

Affinity Groups with Carolina Velez, Affinity Group Mentor (Included in Program):

What is a Mindful Self-Compassion (MSC) affinity group?

A group of Core Skills training participants who self-identify with a particular social-cultural identity (i.e. race, ethnicity, culture, sexual orientation, gender identity, ability-challenged, nationality, age, social class, etc.). With this shared identity they come together to explore the intersection of their diverse experiences in relation to learning and practicing Mindful-Self-Compassion. The intention is to provide a safe space in which participants from underrepresented populations have an opportunity to create community and discuss the course experiences and learning with others who share the same social-cultural identity. This can afford participants from the numerical minority greater accessibility to a supportive space for the cultivation of social-cultural identity affirmation, inclusiveness and belonging.

Mindful Self-Compassion Affinity Groups

  • Black, Indigenous and People of Color: BIPOC (underrepresented racial identities)
  • Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer/Genderqueer, Intersex, Asexual, Pansexual and Other Identities: LGBTQIAP+ (sexual orientation, gender identity, nonbinary/gender expansion & expression)
 

Carolina Bautista-Velez
MSC Teacher

Carolina Bautista-Velez is a Certified Professional Coach, consultant, and mindfulness teacher with over 18 years of professional experience. She is the owner of CVelez Consulting and Metamorphosis-Coaching.  Carolina’s work is rooted on social justice, cultural humility and anti-oppression framework.

 Carolina became interested in mindfulness practices 5 years ago after taking the MBSR (Mindfulness Based Stress Reduction) course and experiencing the effects of having a daily mindfulness practice in her personal life. Since then, Carolina have participated in multiple silent retreats, trainings, and uses Mindfulness as a tool to help her clients. She is a Trained Teacher of Mindful Self-Compassion through the University of San Diego- Center for Mindful Self-Compassion.  Carolina is a faculty member at the Inner Work Center in Richmond, VA, where she also co-created a mindfulness group for People of Color.

 Carolina holds a degree in clinical psychology with  specialization in social psychology and psychoanalysis. She is an immigrant, Latinx, Queer, social changer who believes in the power of individual and collective liberation.

Schedule for Affinity Group Sessions:

Both affinity groups meet on each day

Friday October 30, 1:00pm Eastern Time / 6:00pm CET
Saturday October 31, 10:00am Eastern Time / 3:00pm CET
 
Friday November 6, 1:00pm Eastern Time  / 7:00pm CET
Saturday November 7, 10:00am Eastern Time / 4:00pm CET
 
 
 
If you are uncertain of a start time, please check World Time Buddy to find the time the affinity group begins where you live.

Please contact Carolina Velez by email 24 hours in advance of attendance at any of the above affinity group sessions at: cvelezconsultant@yahoo.com

In order to assist Carolina in placing you in the affinity group of your choice, please include your name and name of the affinity group you would like to attend.  Please know that you can just show up and attend any of the affinity groups sessions, if needed, and if you are unable to email Carolina ahead of time.