September 10 – Fierce Self-Compassion

Young woman standing with her eyes closed in a park and raising her arms to the sky on a sunny summer day

Course date

Saturday
September 10

Course date
September 10 (Saturday)

3:00 – 6:15 pm Pacific Time
5 – 8:15 pm Central Time
6 – 9:15 pm Eastern Time
10 pm – 1:15 am UTC
12 – 3:15 am Central European Time on September 11
7 – 10:15 am Japan Time on September 11
8 – 11:15 am Australian Eastern Time on September 11
10 am – 1:15 pm New Zealand on on September 11

Please check World Time Buddy to confirm the time the program begins where you live. See HERE for a list of several time conversions for September 10.

If you miss Fierce Self-Compassion, you will be able view the session recording. The session will be recorded, edited and be posted on this Participant Support Page within 72 hours.
 

Zoom Link for Main Sessions: Join Here
Meeting ID:  828 5576 1335
Passcode:   RUbQ*8

Zoom Guidelines: CMSC utilizes the Zoom platform for this training.  If you are unfamiliar with Zoom, please first review Zoom’s helpful audio, video, and Quick Start guides.  You can also log in 30 minutes before the session to troubleshoot your connection. Important – Starting Nov. 1, 2021, customers will need to update their Zoom client to ensure their software is no more than nine months behind the current version before using the platform. Learn more about the change here.

Additional Support:

  • Self-Compassion Mentoring – There will be two Self-Compassion Mentors available on Chat during the workshop to answer questions about the material. Each is an experienced  MSC teacher, who has received the highest level of training. You may wish to connect with them to explore something that may be puzzling you; causing you to feel a bit stuck; or to simply get support if you are struggling in some way. Most importantly, we want you to feel safe and supported and do not want you to struggle in isolation or feel alone as you move through the program. We know that it is natural to need some support when learning something new.

Program Materials:
Agenda
5 Myths of Self-Compassion

Workshop Recording

This recording will be available for viewing until November 15. It will not be downloadable.

Introduction to Self-Compassion Presenter

Kristin-Neff_2015
Kristin Neff, Ph.D., is co-founder of CMSC and co-developer of MSC. She is an Associate Professor in the Educational Psychology Dept. at the University of Texas at Austin. She is a pioneer in the field of self-compassion research, being the first person to operationally define and measure the construct. She has published numerous academic articles and has been recognized as one of the most influential researchers in psychology worldwide. Her best-selling books include Self-Compassion: The Proven Power of Being Kind to Yourself, Fierce Self-Compassion: How Women Can Harness Kindness to Speak Up, Claim Their Power and Thrive. and The Mindful Self-compassion Workbook (co-authored with Chris Germer). Kristin has a popular Ted-X talk on self-compassion with more than 2 million views, and is regularly featured in the media. Her website – which contains videos, guided practices, a way to test your self-compassion levels and hundreds of research articles – is: www.self-compassion.org

Zoom link for the Fierce Self-Compassion workshop Main Sessions: Join here

Regardless of your comfort with the Zoom platform, we ask that all participants try to log in at least 5-10 minutes before the sessions begin so that you can be settled and ready to begin.

Program Contacts:
For Zoom Technical Issues:
Meg Mathieson: [email protected]

For Registration or Payment Questions:
Gail: [email protected]

For CMSC Program Related Questions:
Laura Stein: [email protected]

For Self-Compassion Mentoring Questions:
Laila Narsi: [email protected]
David Fredrickson: [email protected]

Presenter:
Kristin Neff website: https://self-compassion.org

Self-Compassion Mentors

A unique aspect of this Fierce Self-Compassion workshop is the opportunity to engage with Mentors online while going through the program if you have questions or are struggling in some way.

Laila Narsi, LCSW, CMMT, Certified MSC Teacher

Laila Narsi, LCSW, CMMT is a Certified Mindful Self-Compassion teacher and a Trauma Informed Psychotherapist in private practice in Texas. She is also the Center for Mindful Self-Compassion’s Coordinator of Retreats and Coordinator of Circles of Practice Public Offering. Growing up on three continents, Laila has a deep respect and understanding of cultural and linguistics. She has travelled around the world working with several teachers cultivating her interests in mindfulness, diversity, cultural studies, human rights, and international arts. For more information, please visit her website at https://themindfulself.com

David Fredrickson, MFT

Writer, teacher, advocate, and psychotherapist, David Fredrickson has worked with and learned from underserved and traumatized communities including at-risk children and families, the LGBTQIAP+ community, and those affected by HIV/AIDS. Following his own health crisis, activated by caregiver fatigue, David discovered that his care often did not include himself. Mindful Self-Compassion (MSC) became part of his own healing and as a MSC teacher he is committed to bringing this powerful balm to others. A long-time resident of San Francisco, David is a lover of nature, music, good friends, dogs, and good food.

http://www.davidafredrickson.com